Visiting Locarno, Switzerland

Lake Locarno, Switzerland

Lake Maggiore, Locarno, Switzerland

While still living in the Netherlands we took a weekend trip to visit a friend in Locarno, Switzerland. It was my first time in that part of Switzerland and it was nice. The picture above was taken at Lake Maggiore in Locarno and is located just down the road from where we were visiting.

Heading up the road...and I mean 'UP'.

Heading up the road…and I mean ‘UP’.

Unfortunately most of my pictures didn’t come out too well as I was still learning how to use my new camera. The picture above is of the road up the mountain. It doesn’t look like much of an incline but I can tell you that it is quite a hike. Trust me!

Birdies enjoying a nice treat someone left them.

Birdies enjoying a nice treat someone left them.

We took a stroll along Lake Maggiore despite the temperatures being quite chilly….okay it was downright cold actually but it was a nice sunny day. I took the above picture of birds enjoying a treat that someone kindly left them somewhere along the stroll.

Up close and personal with the birds of Locarno

Up close and personal with the birds of Locarno

View of some of the mountains from in town.

View of some of the mountains from in town.

We were only in Locarno for a night or two and then headed to Campione so these are the best pictures that I took at that time. This was a view of the mountains from in town.

Nice misty mountain picture, Locarno, Switzerland

Nice misty mountain picture, Locarno, Switzerland

I thought the above picture was pretty cool. It was a foggy morning with the sun trying to peak through the mist. Very mysterious and peaceful at the same time.

Cool fountain at the top of the hill.

Cool fountain at the top of the hill.

One morning we walked up the hill to find this very cool fountain.

Up close and personal with the fountain.

Up close and personal with the fountain.

Up that same hilly road we found such nice paintings and statues. The picture below is of one of them.

Pretty painting on the side of the road...

Pretty painting on the side of the road…

Like I said, it was a quick visit and so I didn’t really get to see too much of the town. It was nice being able to see our friends there though and that’s what counts. Next time I visit Locarno I’ll take more pictures and explore more.

Categories: Locarno, Switzerland | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

