Out And About In Alphen With My New Camera

Dutch windmill, Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands

Dutch windmill, Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands

Well Santa brought me a really nice digital camera for Christmas and it has so many different settings on it that I HAD to just take off on my bike for a photo tour of Alphen aan den Rijn. So here I would like to share with you all the best pictures from that first day of camera exploring! Some came out really good and others could be better but again I really didn’t know what I was doing with it yet. 🙂

Bicyclists taking advantage of the beautiful day!

Bicyclists taking advantage of the beautiful day!

Whenever there’s a sunny day in Alphen you’ll see die-hard bicyclists all geared up with smiles on their faces.

Windmills and Bicyclists!

Windmills and Bicyclists!

Keep in mind that this was in December and despite the outfits these guys are wearing the wind was blowing hard and it was cold!

Modern Dutch windmills up close and personal

Modern Dutch windmills up close and personal

These windmills could be seen from our apartment. They were just down the road from us and could be seen over the roofs of the buildings if the angle was right.

Windmills peering from behind the buildings!

Windmills peering from behind the buildings!

When I first got to Alphen I went on a hunt to find them because you could see them and then you would turn a corner and they would mysteriously disappear from site. Needless to say I finally found them. 🙂

SAM_0055

Landscape picture of a pretty little pond I found.

SAM_0054

Another pretty shot!

SAM_0058

Bike/Walking trail through the fields!

SAM_0061

A nice place to rest among nature!

This is the only picture this guy would let me have of his face!

This is the only picture this guy would let me have of his face!

The rest of the pictures were like this or worse...

The rest of the pictures were like this or worse…but I personally like this shot!

More of the trail...

More of the trail…

Look I discovered I can even take panorama shots too!!

A nice panorama shot of the field trail.

A nice panorama shot of the field trail.

Church in town in Alphen...

Church in town in Alphen…

On the way to the windmill I passed a nice church and this little park in a neighborhood that I liked…

A small park in a neighborhood I liked in Alphen...

A small park in a neighborhood I liked in Alphen…

The windmill below is a working windmill but now it’s used as a museum (most are…or people use them as their house) and there’s also a popular bakery on premises.

Another traditional Dutch windmill...

Another traditional Dutch windmill…

Going back towards the center of Alphen I crossed the bridge over the canal below…

One of the canals going into downtown Alphen

One of the canals going into downtown Alphen

Some residents of the above canal...

Some residents of the above canal…

SAM_0127

Another little village church just across the canal bridge…

SAM_0122

Panorama of the bridge and canal

SAM_0128

I liked the way the sunset was hitting this weather vane…

SAM_0131

One of the side streets going into Alphen downtown square….

SAM_0134

The Castellum in Alphen downtown square…

The Castellum in this picture is a cafe and movie theater as well as a place where plays are put on.

SAM_0139

Another church in the Alphen downtown square…

There are so many little churches across the country but apparently very few Dutch actually use them. They do look pretty though. Have no fear because there is still a McDonald’s and numerous coffee shops to attend instead! 🙂

SAM_0142

Sunset on the canal in Alphen downtown…

SAM_0155

Sun setting on this pretty Dutch building!

At this point the sun was setting and I had been gone for about 4 hours so I figured it was time to go home and make some dinner! 🙂

Categories: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Out And About In Alphen With My New Camera

  1. Nice pictures. It’s exciting to use a new camera, right? What camera is it? Take many and post many new photos.

    • Thank you, Camille. Yes, it’s quite fun to play with a new toy and get really good pictures. My last camera was getting really slow and half the pictures I took were blurry. This camera exceeds my expectations. It’s fast. It takes great pictures even in low light and even though it’s a digital you can still use manual settings like you would with a professional camera. Plus it’s still considered borderline compact. It has a 21X digital zoom (which I LOVE!). It’s a Samsung WB850F I highly recommend it! 🙂 We’re going out today exploring and picture taking because it’s a wonderful sunny, blooming, spring day here! You’ll see those pictures once my blog catches up to Canada. 🙂

      • Also, it’s the first digital camera that I’ve had that when you use the full spectrum of the zoom it DOESN’T get grainy. If you look at that swan picture in this blog…they were not close at all. I was on the bridge looking down and the were way down the canal from me. I zoomed in on them but it looks like I was close enough to touch them. The quality of the picture is just as good as a regular non-zoomed picture. It has a Schneider Kreuznach Lens. I fell in love with this camera while testing it in the store! 🙂

  2. Cyn

    Great Stuff! Keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

