A Day At De Pier Scheveningen, Den Haag, Netherlands – Part 2: Art Sculptures!

DSC06356

During our nice sunny excursion to Scheveningen Beach in Den Haag we came upon the art sculptures that line the end of the boardwalk. I really enjoyed these because they all had a great sense of humor to them and made me smile and laugh. I hope you’ll enjoy the pictures I took of them as much as I enjoyed walking among them all.

096

I felt sad for this big guy. I wanted to hug him!

099

I thought this was an interesting commentary on the world…what do you think?

101

The mouse gets his revenge on the lion!

103

Don’t mess with this whale!

105

Shipwrecked and hanging on by an oar…well almost!

109

Enjoying the Dutch treat of raw herring!

DSC06354

Another perspective of the herring eating sculpture!

112

Hiding your head in the sand!

113

Headstand on the beach!

118

The princess and the frog…happy ever after!

Other things we saw that day on the beach:

This pretty little guy posed for me!

This pretty little guy posed for me!

All roads lead to...well...somewhere!

All roads lead to…well…somewhere!

Getting friendly with the local fish!

Getting friendly with the local fish!

Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel from Strandweg next to the beach, Scheveningen Beach

Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel from Strandweg next to the beach, Scheveningen Beach

I thought this picture was so Dutch and beautiful!

I thought this picture was so Dutch and beautiful!

Stay tuned for more of our travel adventures coming up…

Categories: Den Haag, Netherlands | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Day At De Pier Scheveningen, Den Haag, Netherlands – Part 2: Art Sculptures!

  1. Well, what do you know…this artist is Tom Otterness, and he’s one of my neighbors here in Brooklyn! See his site at: http://tomostudio.com/. We’ve enjoyed his works at Battery Park City (http://tomostudio.com/exhibitions_bpc.html). Small world!

    • That’s very cool. I didn’t see any reference to who the artist was when we were there but having looked at the website you provided it’s definitely him. We really enjoyed the sculptures and I had a grin on my face the whole time. They were a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

