Impressions of Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands – Part 1

My first official real stroopwafel!

My first official real stroopwafel, Alphen aan den Rijn

I am so far behind in my travel writings that I’ve decided to do a bunch of short blogs with pictures in order to give you an impression of the different places we’ve been in the last 6+ months. So here we go! Out and about in Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands.

Cafe Latte from Delifrance, Alphen center!

Cafe Latte from Delifrance, Alphen center!

My usual visit to coffee shops while traveling led me to this Delifrance in Alphen center. Very nice coffee and the little sugar cookies that came with it were very good too!

A foggy morning in Alphen!

A foggy morning in Alphen out our living room window!

It wasn’t uncommon to wake up to fog outside our apartment. It gave it a really nice, dreamy quality to the neighborhood!

I still can't tell you exactly what this was supposed to be...but it was right near our grocery store.

I still can’t tell you exactly what this was supposed to be…but it was right near our grocery store.

Above could be a deer? An anteater? A strange morphing creature? I don’t know but whatever it was there was a crossing sign there too but I never saw anything that looked like that. 🙂

Stroopwafels and tea, our daily ritual for the time in NL!

Stroopwafels and tea, our daily ritual for the time in NL!

I think I probably (well…okay definitely) packed on some extra pounds with the stroopwafel ritual in the morning here but they were sooooo good! 🙂

Beautiful view of the last of the autumn leaves in town center.

Beautiful view of the last of the autumn leaves in town center.

I just really liked this picture with the last of the autumn leaves hanging on to the trees. A few weeks later we got some really good snow too.

One of the many canals in Alphen!

One of the many canals in Alphen!

This is a really tiny canal compared to most of them in the Netherlands but this was my first day roaming around town seeing the sites.

Categories: Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Impressions of Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands – Part 1

  1. marie bergenn

    very very interesting

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

