They’re REALLY Going To Stop For ME? Wow! That’s Weird!

One of the things that’s really nice about Victoria and is also kind of unnerving is their politeness when it comes to the pedestrian crosswalks. I am a native New Yorker who knows you NEVER, EVER just ASSUME that the cars are going to ACTUALLY stop for you in those crosswalks and if you live in Florida like I now do you also know that even though the law says you have to stop for pedestrians in the crosswalks people take is as more of a suggestion rather than an actual law.

Well, here in Canada it is also the law that they have to stop for pedestrians in the crosswalks but the weird thing is that they ACTUALLY do it! EVERY TIME! Without being prodded or made to feel guilty in to doing it. They just see you and STOP! They actually smile at you too and wave you to cross like some friendly neighbor or family member like ‘Go on Johnny. It’s okay. I am stopping just for you!’ It’s freaking amazing!

The reason it’s unnerving is because I am actually afraid that I am going to get used to this and start taking it for granted that it’s just something that happens naturally because it’s the law and then I’ll go home or to some other city and without thinking walk into the pedestrian crosswalk and get run over as I am being flipped the bird and cursed at.

Oh well I’ve got another week and a half here and until I leave I’ll enjoy the moment and just keep reminding myself that this is some sort of alternative reality and that back home I have to really be on my guard again. 🙂

Categories: Canada, Challenges Insights and More, Strange Ways and Customs, Victoria, BC | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

