Why Do I Have The Kinks Song Victoria In My Head Again?

Our View Of Victoria Harbor in British Columbia

Well that’s easy, because I find myself in Victoria, B.C. again thanks to a good friend of ours who lives there. His wife was away and he wanted company so he sent Matt and I tickets to come visit him again. A very nice surprise indeed.

Our journey there was an interesting one too. Having only found out about the journey to Victoria four days prior Matt and I found ourselves at Miami Airport VERY, VERY early in the morning only to find out that our flight to Victoria (you know, the ONLY flight to Victoria that only involved one stop in Seattle and only flew ONCE a day AND caused us to have to get up at 3 a.m. to get to the airport in time…yeah, that flight) was cancelled due to a sick crew member. Later they decided to fly a special flight for us at 7 p.m. So we got to peruse Miami Airport for about 11 hours but I digress.

Short of that the rest of the trip was good. Because the flight had so few people on it (most had rescheduled for the next day or had taken other airlines to get where they were going) we all got a whole row of seats on the plane to ourselves. I actually for the first time got to sleep on the flight because I could actually lay down. Oh it was wonderful! Other amenities we received for our troubles were a free glass of wine (I got two…Matt doesn’t really drink…it also helped the aforementioned sleeping on the plane bit too), a free sandwich (if you were a meat eater but still a good gesture), and free use of the portable Digiplayer with all the movies, games, music videos, etc plus they had to put us up in a hotel in Seattle being our arrival came at a time where no planes were flying to Victoria until the morning.

Here’s a video of our flight from Seattle to Victoria, B.C.:

And here’s a video of us landing at Victoria International Airport:

Once we arrived in Victoria we were greeted by our friend, Jurg, and we proceeded to make us a nice homemade dinner of pasta, wine, and appetizers.

A Canoe!

Outside The Canoe Club, Victoria B.C.

Home Brewed At The Canoe Club

Where all the magic happens!

Quinoa and Chickpea Veggie Burger with Butternut Squash Soup

The next day was our first full day in Victoria and we headed to the Canoe Club for lunch where I had a really great Quinoa and Chickpea veggie burger and a bowl of Butternut Squash soup. I washed it all down with a Canoe Club in house made Ale that was wonderful.

Wild Caught Local Sockeye Salmon!

In the evening we all strolled back into town for a wonderful meal at Nautical Nellie’s where I indulged in my first piece of Wild Sockeye Salmon in over a year. I am totally vegetarian but make certain exceptions (such as certain fish mostly…I am not interested in other meat things) when traveling in order to experience the local foods. This salmon was local and wild caught in British Columbia and it was the best salmon I believe I’ve ever had. Matt and Jurg had surf and turf.

Next up is a visit to one of the ‘famous’ local places to eat called Barb’s. They are known for their fish and chips and I’ve heard they are the best in Victoria. I’ll report back soon.

Categories: Canada, Canada, Food and Other Stuff, Victoria, BC, Victoria, BC, Video Tours | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Why Do I Have The Kinks Song Victoria In My Head Again?

  1. Clive Roberts

    Getting up at 3am for a 7pm flight! Those security screenings must be really tough now! 🙂
    Glad to hear you’re having such a nice time up there. Surely a bit chilly after Florida though!

    • That’s the price of having to drive about 2 1/2 hours to the airport and then having to be there early because it’s an international flight. It would have been fine if they actually would have had a flight. 🙂 The chill is lovely. This year in Florida was just too hot for me so Canada is nice right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

